Each area school system chooses its Teacher of the Year, an award based on exemplary performance in – and often beyond – the classroom.  Valley Alliance for Education, in collaboration with corporate sponsor Ntelos Foundation, further honors each Teacher of the Year with a $1,000 School Grant award, which is presented to the school superintendent or representative and Teacher of the Year at the VAE Annual Reception.   


CONGRATULATIONS! 2017  Teachers of the Year:

  •        Matthew Grandpre’, Waynesboro High School –  Waynesboro Public Schools

  •        Angie Humphrey, McSwain Elementary School  – Staunton City Schools

  •        Wendi Shorkey,  Cassell Elementary School  – Augusta County Schools