Congratulations to the 2020-21 creative classroom grant recipients, we had many extremely deserving applications.  Unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 virus and economic downfall, funds did not allow us to fund as many grants as we would have liked to.  We would like to encourage applicants to re-apply for the next grant cycle.  

Creative Classroom Grants for 2020-21

Thanks to the generosity of our business partners and donors,

Valley Alliance for Education has approved funding for 16 grants totaling $17,947.74

PLUS 3 School Grants  to the Teachers of the Year from each Division:

Sponsored by NTELOS Wireless Foundation

Totaling $20,947.74 in awards

VAE – would like to THANK everyone who participated in the CCG process 

See Below for a complete list of CCG Recipients and School Grants for 2020-21

                                                                              (Pictured above are some of the 2019-20 Creative Classroom Grant recipients at our annual award reception)


Lead Teacher Division School Title
Cheryl Sams Augusta County  Wilson Memorial High  School Medieval Parabolas!
Lori Peltonen Staunton City Staunton High School Humans of OHS
Tracee McDonald Augusta County Riverheads High School The Constitution Visualized 
Kristin Beery SAW Valley Career & Technical Center Boisterous for Oysters
Katherine Stevey Waynesboro City Kate Collins Middle School Life Science Module
Ben Wyrick Augusta County Stewart  Middle  School 3D Printing Architecture 
Joey Mason Augusta County Wilson Middle School Hands on Math 
Kynndall Hartt Augusta County Stuarts Draft Middle School iGenius Hour -iPads for iGenuis Hour 
Linda Brake Augusta County Riverheads Elementary School The Dynamic Duo!
Heather Smith-Reeps Staunton City T.C. McSwain Elementary School Polygon Power
Heather Smith-Reeps Staunton City T.C. McSwain Elementary School Measuring the Amaryllis – Queen of Flowers 
Sharon Zoumbaris Waynesboro City Westwood Elementary School Playaways – The Best of Both Reading Worlds

Amber Yeates  and Tessa Buchanan

Augusta County Riverheads Elementary School Bringing the Classroom to Life
Jessica Herr Staunton City T.C. McSwain Elementary School We did it with We Do 
Heidi Whitecotton and Mark Sokolowski Augusta County Stewart Middle School Digging Deep While Blasting Off!
Erin Hagedorn Waynesboro City Kate Collins Elemetary School XXXXXX
School Grants honoring the 2019-20 Tears of the Year: Sponsored by our business partner: NTELOS  Wireless Foundation
Lisa Cooper Staunton City Bessie Weller Elementary School 2019-20Teacher of the Year
Emily Hewitt Augusta County Stuarts Draft Elementary School 2019-20 Teacher of the year
Alexandria Lancaster Waynesboro City William Perry Elementary School 2019-20 Teacher of the Year

2018 Teachers of the Year