Valley Alliance for Education Board members work closely each year with the Community Foundation of the Central Blue Ridge to review nominations for the Dawbarn Awards.  Created to reward individuals for their work to improve public education, encourage good citizenship, and foster learning among young people in the public schools of Augusta County, Staunton, and Waynesboro, Dawbarn Awards may be given to teachers, guidance counselors, secretaries, bus drivers, custodians, school volunteers, tutors, community leaders, and others who have a positive impact on public education.

2016 Dawbarn Education Award Recipients

  •   Deborah Burke, 3rd Grade Teacher, Craigsville Elementary School
  • Victoria Conyers,  Chair, Special Education Department Riverheads High School
  • Alison Cornish, Kindegarten Teacher, William Perry Elementary School
  • Jennifer Goss, Social Studies Teacher, Robert E. Lee High School
  • Robert Ham, Masonry Instrucor, Valley Career and Technical Center
  • Paula Jesalva,  English language Learner Teacher, Fort Defiance High School
  • Derek McDanial (Coach Mac),  Athletic Director, Waynesboro High School
  • Roxie Megginson, 6th Grade Science Teacher, Stuarts Draft Middle School
  • Donna Morris, Librian, Shelburne Middle School
  • Lori Swortzel, Assistant Principal, Robert E. Lee High School


 For additional information or to obtain a nomination form, visit www.communityfoundationcbr.org, or contact Cristina Casado at 540/213-2150 or ccasado@cfcbr.org